Fuchsia “Deep Purple”

Image

I’ve grown fuchsias for many years, but this is the first time I’ve tried “Deep Purple”.

It came as part of a collection that I bought mail order in the spring as plugs. They arrived in late March and were potted into 9cm pots of multipurpose compost and kept on a north-facing windowsill until such time as I reckoned I could get away with putting them in the cold frame (I don’t own a heated glasshouse).

By May, I would usually expect to be well into the hardening-off process, but this year’s incredibly cold and very late spring meant that I had to play everything by ear, taking them in and out of the house and covering/uncovering them with fleece according to the daily forecast. Quite a performance!

I planted them out into their final positions in early June and they’re now just starting to flower, with Deep Purple the first to show itself. The flowers are large and lovely, and the habit seems quite tidy for a trailing double, so I’m delighted with it – I’ll be on the hunt for cuttings very soon…

Posted on July 12, 2013, in Plant Profiles. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

