Hemerocallis “Georgette Belden”

Image

The first of this year’s crop of flowers on H. Georgette Belden opened today. I lost a few to gall midge (as always!), and there are never very many to begin with, but this beauty more or less justifies its space in my tiny garden.

Each bloom may only last a day, but they are truly glorious: deep claret, velvety and a good 6 inches across at the widest point. The foliage is strap-shaped and fittingly broad to match the sizable flowers.

My only complaint – if you can call it that – is that the plant is very slow to bulk up in my garden. I started with one fan about three years ago, and I now have the princely sum of…two(!), which means that the flowers are still in quite short supply.  Whether it’s my soil, the aspect, the weather conditions or simply that the plant is a slow-grower, I don’t know, but I do know that a mature clump will be a long time in the making at this rate. Heigh ho. I’m sure it will be worth the wait – and on the bright side, I do at least have no concerns that it will become thuggish and outgrow its space!

Posted on July 12, 2013, in Plant Profiles. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

