Lamium, heuchera and phlox from cuttings

I adore this time of year. From late May through to mid-July I just want to propagate EVERYTHING in my garden (I don’t have the space to do it, but that’s neither here nor there!).

In the middle of May I took cuttings from my lavender Phlox “Prospero” and stuck them round the edge of a small plastic pot of seed and cuttings compost, then placed them in the coldframe inside a tray covered with a clear plastic lid to keep the moisture in – my coldframe is on a north-facing house wall, so there is no danger of scorching.

Because of the cold spring, they took several weeks to root and even longer to show signs of top growth (I pinched out the tips of the cuttings, so I was waiting for sideshoots). Having seen definite signs of growth, I took them out from under cover in mid-June but left them in the coldframe with the lid half down to harden up for a few days. They were then ready to be potted into individual pots (I used JI#2) and put back in the coldframe to settle for a week or so.

They’re now out of the coldframe and sitting on the patio by the house wall – still shaded for most of the day, but getting some late afternoon sun – and they seem to be coming on well, as are the Heuchera “Plum Pudding” cuttings that I rooted in the coldframe, also in May. (They were from a small clump that was being crowded out by its neighbours, which I dug up and pulled apart into its component little crowns, some with tiny roots, some not, and potted into individual pots of seed and cuttings compost before placing them in the coldframe with no additional covering.)

Image

I have no particular plans for any of these plants, by the way – I just wanted to propagate something!

The same is true for the lamium cuttings I took today. I know I could propagate it by layering or division, but I fancied doing some more cuttings, so it was out with the secateurs:

Image

…and 5 minutes later I had a couple of pots of cuttings ready for my propagator-within-a-coldframe. I haven’t done these before, but I’m guessing they’ll need to be covered initially because of the soft, sappiness of the material. I’m not too sure which variety it is, by the way: it has bright silver and green leaves and a pure white flower and looks very like “White Nancy” from the pictures I’ve seen, but I guess there could be many other varieties answering a similar description!

I’ve also taken penstemon cuttings, which have rooted very successfully from new shoots snipped in early June, and diascia cuttings rooted from sideshoots in mid-June. I wasn’t too sure whether the latter would work to be honest because when I cut the stems they were more or less hollow, and I was under the impression that hollow stems don’t root(?)  I have another two varieties that I’d like to propagate from, so I hope they succeed. Time will tell, I suppose…

Posted on July 12, 2013, in Techniques. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

