Hemerocallis “Luxury Lace”

Image

Pretty flower, rubbish plant…at least, it is in my garden.

Probably my fault, though. I’ve been allowing it to get crowded by an old bergenia, and overshadowed in the spring by some fairly rampant Solomon’s Seal, so I’ve hardly been giving it the best chance.

I’ll move it this autumn, give it a bit more elbow room and some freshly-manured soil and see if I can’t do better than one flowerstalk with a couple of buds!

I really want it to justify its place because it’s an elegant plant, with its peach blooms held high on slender stalks. It also starts flowering a little later than my other hemerocallis varieties, which is useful. Hopefully it will repay me if I put in a bit more effort, because unfortunately, I don’t have the space for passengers…

Posted on July 19, 2013, in Plant Profiles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

