Alstroemeria “Spitfire”

This is the one I’ve been most looking forward to:

alstroemeria-spitfire

 

With its variegated foliage and vibrant red-orange and yellow flowers, this truly is an all-singing, all-dancing variety; I’m just not sure I actually like it!

For one thing, it’s a little hard to place in my garden where the predominant colours tend towards the pinks and mauves, and for another, it’s almost too striking for a small garden where excessive attention-hoggers can be a bit overwhelming. I’m trying to visualise a large clump of this, and I think I’d need sunglasses to look at it no matter what the weather!

I’ll have to give it some thought: perhaps a pocket of “hot” plants (purples, yellows, oranges, reds) in a sunny spot would accommodate it well enough?

Anyway, it’s a nice mid-sized plant about 2 foot tall, needs a bit of supporting, and is later to come into bloom than some of the others. I imagine the flowers will persist for several weeks in typical alstroemeria fashion, so I suppose I’d better get used to them!

Posted on August 4, 2013, in Plant Profiles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

