Begonia tubers – rooted!

A few days ago I felt it was time to move my begonia tubers into individual pots, so I dug them up to find this:

begonia-tuber-roots

This one was the best of them, but they all had promising root growth so I’m hopeful that they will grow on well.

I potted them into plastic pots of Miracle Gro multi-purpose compost, the pots being just wide enough to contain the tuber + roots. I swithered about adding anything into the mix for extra drainage, but in the end decided not to because this compost seems pretty free-draining as it is – time will tell whether that was the right decision!

I’ve placed them by my north-facing patio door so they’re getting reasonable albeit indirect light. Daytime temperature is in the mid-to-high teens centigrade at the moment so I may consider putting them outside during the day in a little while: I find that once they get going my tuberous begonias soon outgrow my tiddly little windowsills and are better off going outdoors as soon as temperature allows. I do have to lug them back in again over night of course – there can be frosts right into May around here – but with no greenhouse or conservatory I have limited options and need to make the effort.

I haven’t potted up the single big tuber yet because that seems to be moving very slowly. Perhaps in another week’s time it will start to take off, we’ll see!

Posted on April 14, 2014, in Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

