Survivors and earlier-than-usual risers!

Clearing out my coldframe this morning, I was surprised to see that I have some unlikely survivors from last year, namely three citrus seedlings that I grew from supermarket fruit last spring:

lemon-and-orange-seedlings-21st-May

Okay, they’re in pretty bad shape – slugs and snails have had a good old munch by the looks of things! – but somehow, they’re still alive having had no more winter protection than could be provided by my coldframe against the house wall. I know we had an incredibly mild winter, but even so, I wouldn’t have thought that very small citrus seedlings would have come through it without heat.

And then there are my remnant fuchsias from last year. Just the other day I spotted:

fuschia-swingtime-in-may

my “Swingtime” from last year has not only survived almost intact but is already flowering! The only protection that it had was pulling the pot up against the house wall, but I do that every year and have never had this happen before. I didn’t even put any horticultural fleece on it…amazing!

To add to the list of early risers, I have a pink diascia from last year in flower:

pink-diascia-may-21st

and also Alstroemeria “Cahors”:

alstroemeria-cahors-21st-May

Both of these could be flowering until November so I think I’d better get feeding them!

Lastly, this is the earliest I’ve ever seen this in flower in my garden:

tradescantia-21st-May

Tradescantia “Sweet Kate”, sadly rather chomped by pests before I realised it, but stunning nonetheless (especially from far enough away not to see the damage, lol!).

Posted on May 21, 2014, in Random ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

