Propagating lilies: 2nd update

Finally got around to taking a photo today:

new-lilies-feb-11th-2015

Coming along nicely!

The sprouted scales were potted up 3 months ago into 10cm (4in) pots of fairly fibrous multipurpose compost and placed by my north-facing patio doors to keep them as cool as possible in this centrally-heated house.

By early December I started to see the first grass-like shoots poking out of the compost, and now I would appear to have 10 new plants on their way – apparently, each scale is capable of producing more than one new plant, which is great if you really want to bulk up your stock.

I’m keeping them in the house for now, but it probably isn’t ideal – I suspect they’d be better off in a cool greenhouse, but I don’t have one of those, unfortunately! – and I’ll look to move them outside to my coldframe as soon as the weather is clement enough (hopefully in March sometime).

It will be at least a couple of years before they reach flowering size, but I know they’re gorgeous, so well worth the wait!

Posted on February 13, 2015, in Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

