Lots more roots!

I think it’s time to pot up this rooted side shoot!

tomato-roots-june-13th

I measured the roots when I removed it from the jar, and the longest were about 8cm – not bad for about a week’s growth!

Next step was to carefully pot it up in some multipurpose compost and water it in very well:

tomato-sideshoot-potted-up-13th-june

I then put it in my shady coldframe so that it will be protected from hot sun (if we get any!) until the roots have had a chance to establish, after which it can go back out into a sunny spot to grow on.

It already has a little flower bud on it, so I may see fruit quicker than I think!

Posted on June 13, 2015, in Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

