Nature watch: damsels laying

damselflies-laying-eggs-30th-may

For about a week now I have been spotting a pair/pairs of Large Red damselflies laying eggs on the stems of emergent plants in my two water-filled containers, so I know that come May/June next year, barring accident, there will be a new generation of damsels to delight me.

I know that this species is just about the most common in the UK, but I never fail to feel honoured when these dainty, jewel-coloured insects choose my garden to reproduce in. It took a few seasons for them to find me, but now they come every year, and early summer wouldn’t be the same without them.

Posted on June 20, 2015, in Random ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

