Some new arrivals

I shouldn’t be allowed near a nursery at this time of year because even though I know that my garden is full to overflowing, I can never walk out empty-handed!

Top of my “couldn’t resist” list was Heuchera “Marmalade”:

heuchera-marmalade

I’ve owned Heuchera “Plum Pudding” for quite a number of years and love it for its robustness and easygoing nature – it seems to do well no matter where I grow it – so I’ve been meaning to add another variety to my plant collection for a while now, but hadn’t been able to decide on one until I spotted Heuchera “Marmalade” at a local nursery. I was immediately drawn to its pleasing blend of hues, reddish-orange through to pale lime green, and its compact habit, so it found its way into my basket, shortly followed by Heuchera “Fire Chief”:

heuchera-fire-chief

This one is a really stunning red and will provide excellent foliage contrast in my sunny borders.

I was going to be (almost) sensible and leave it at that when I saw this little beauty:

brunnera-jack-frost

 

Brunnera macrophylla “Jack Frost”, a variegated Siberian bugloss to add to the one I already have, Brunnera macrophylla “Variegata”. The blue forget-me-not flowers will have been and gone for this year, but those gorgeous leaves are showy enough for me!

I had to make a little room in my borders to fit in my new acquisitions, and I shall have to be careful that they don’t get swamped by any of their new neighbours, but I’m sure they’ll be worth the space.

Now I just need to stay away from anywhere that sells plants for the forseeable future…or get a bigger garden!

Posted on June 20, 2015, in Random ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

